Username:    Password:    Remember me     
Google
 

Forums


Malwareteks :: Forums :: Off Topic Discussion :: The Clubhouse
 
<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Avast forums hacked
Moderators: ShadowPuterDude, Greg, D3m3nt3d, Brandon, Vmarm, peterparker, siljaline, jholland1964, TurcoLoco, Windsor, JeanInMontana, KZ, RatHat, Jason Amison, MrCharlie
Author Post
JeanInMontana
Sat Aug 25 2007, 09:34PM
Owner Montana Menagerie

Registered Member #66
Joined: Mon May 07 2007, 09:33PM
Location: South Central Montana
Posts: 35
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
This was posted first at T.I.C. http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=183634 or that's where I saw it I guess I should say. I did not find it.





Back to top
Website
ShadowPuterDude
Sat Aug 25 2007, 10:36PM
...the Shadow knows


Registered Member #1
Joined: Thu Apr 27 2006, 04:52PM
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 217
Thanked 10 times in 10 posts
The Avast forum software (SMF) was hacked, most like lyvia an unpatched exploit. The IFRAME exploit contained a link to h__p://mediacount.net/strong/020sdsfg which contained code for Windows Animated Cursor Stack Overflow Vulnerability.

Avast has removed the IFRAME exploit and the forum is back online.


"Only those who fail greatly can ever achieve greatly" - Robert F. Kennedy
Microsoft Most Valuable Professional - Consumer Security (2007-2008)
Member - Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals - Since 2006
Linux Registered User # 363218
Back to top
Website
Brandon
Sun Aug 26 2007, 12:36PM

Registered Member #5
Joined: Fri Apr 28 2006, 07:44PM
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
ShadowPuterDude wrote ...

Avast has removed the IFRAME exploit and the forum is back online.


That's good to hear.

ASAP member since 2006 : Malware Complaints : a-squared Team
Back to top
JeanInMontana
Sun Aug 26 2007, 03:37PM
Owner Montana Menagerie

Registered Member #66
Joined: Mon May 07 2007, 09:33PM
Location: South Central Montana
Posts: 35
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Who is MediaCount? I'm glad they are back online. Bad for a AV site to get hacked.





Back to top
Website
Greg
Mon Aug 27 2007, 07:14PM


Registered Member #2
Joined: Thu Apr 27 2006, 11:19PM
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 74
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
They are a Advert site.

I threw out the map a long time ago. Now I go my own direction!
Back to top
ShadowPuterDude
Mon Aug 27 2007, 10:49PM
...the Shadow knows


Registered Member #1
Joined: Thu Apr 27 2006, 04:52PM
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 217
Thanked 10 times in 10 posts
The MediaCount Homepage is the most unprofessional looking homepage for and advert company I have ever seen.  I can throw together something better in 5 minutes.The page reads like a scam.  From everything I have found the sole purpose behind the domain is to serve malware.


"Only those who fail greatly can ever achieve greatly" - Robert F. Kennedy
Microsoft Most Valuable Professional - Consumer Security (2007-2008)
Member - Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals - Since 2006
Linux Registered User # 363218
Back to top
Website
JeanInMontana
Tue Aug 28 2007, 01:16PM
Owner Montana Menagerie

Registered Member #66
Joined: Mon May 07 2007, 09:33PM
Location: South Central Montana
Posts: 35
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
It seems they are pretty nasty bunch http://www.castlecops.com/postp981533.html Just a tad beyond a mere ad site.





Back to top
Website
 

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System



< ASAP Member Sites | Privacy Policy | Infected? | Want to Help? | Software Piracy | Malware Complaints | About Us | Contact Us | Terms of Service >

Content Copyright 2006-2008 - MalwareTeks
This site is powered by e107, which is released under the terms of the GNU GPL License.


Banner